SEE FULL LIST: Lookman, Ighalo, Dennis and others make Super Eagles’ provisional list for Ghana clash


Austin Eguavoen, Super Eagles technical adviser, has included Ademola Lookman, Odion Ighalo and Dennis Emmanuel in the team’s 32-man provisional list for the World Cup qualification play-off against Ghana later this month.

The provisional list was announced in a statement released by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) on Friday.

Lookman got the nod and will be on track to make a debut for the Super Eagles after FIFA recently cleared him to switch international allegiance from England to Nigeria.

Another newcomer is Akinkunmi Amoo, former Golden Eaglets star, who will get the opportunity to replicate his brilliant form for FC Copenhagen while in the green and white garb of the Eagles.

Ighalo and Dennis return to the Eagles following their failure to join the team at the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) in Cameroon — despite being included in the final list.

Ahmed Musa, William Ekong, Wilfred Ndidi, Moses Simon and Kelechi Iheanacho were invited for the all-important clash against the Black Stars.

The team’s camp is billed to open on March 21, while a final 24–man list for the clash will be released at a later date.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands).

Defenders: Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Calvin Bassey (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal).

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Watford FC, England); Akinkunmi Amoo (FC Copenhagen, Denmark).

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Hilal FC, Saudi Arabia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Emmanuel Dennis (Watford FC, England); Ademola Lookman (Leicester City, England).

Standby: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Praha, Czech Republic); Ogenyi Onazi (Al-Adalah FC, Saudi Arabia).