Akpabio and Ogbonnaya Onu resign to pursue presidential bids


Godswill Akpabio, minister of Niger Delta affairs, and Ogbonnaya Onu, minister of science and technology, have resigned their appointments.

The ministers resigned following President Muhammadu Buhari’s directive ordering members of the federal executive council seeking elective offices to resign on or before Monday.

Jackson Udom, media aide to Akpabio, confirmed the resignation of his principal in a statement issued on Wednesday, while Onu was said to have submitted his resignation letter to the office of the secretary to the government of the federation (SGF).

“Yes. He has just submitted his nomination form to the organising secretary of the party,” Udom told newsmen in a text message.