FG disowns travel advisory on Russia-Ukraine crisis

TUNIS, TUNISIA - JUNE 22: Nigeria's Minister for Foreign Affairs Geoffrey Onyeama and Tunisian Foreign Minister Khemaies Jhinaoui (not seen) hold a press conference after their meeting at the Foreign Ministry in Tunis, Tunisia on June 22, 2017. (Photo by Amine Landoulsi/Anadolu Agency/Getty Images)

The federal government has disowned a viral statement purportedly from the ministry of foreign affairs warning Nigerians from travelling to Russia’s neighbouring countries.

The six Eastern European countries mentioned in the statement were Belarus, Poland, Slovakia, Hungary, Romania and Moldova.

The statement has been shared on different social media platforms and instant messaging apps, particularly Whatsapp.

“The ministry of foreign affairs hereby advised, that all intending Nigeria nationals wishing to travel to Belarus, Poland, Slovakia, Hungary, Romania, and Moldova should be on hold until the month ending May 2022 as their embassy and the consulate have stopped issuance of visa with immediate effect,” the statement reads.

“Necessary to abide to the above is the war alert from the world power to its citizen to leave those countries within 48 hours.

“The fact is due to the unhealthy war alert that the world powers have given which may likely break out unforeseen war without further notice.

“Also, Nigerians proceeding/intending to enter the above neighbouring named countries, between Russia and Ukraine should avoid such unbearable risk.”

The foreign affairs ministry, via his Twitter handle, dismissed the statement as fake.