72 Ex-senators Endorse Akpabio For Senate President


Seventy-two non-serving senators have endorsed Godswill Akpabio, a former minister of Niger Delta affairs, as president of the 10th senate.

Though Akpabio has not formally declared his intention to run, he has received support from some quarters of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for the position.

Last week, Abdullahi Ganduje, outgoing governor of Kano, said the former governor of Akwa Ibom, would be the next senate president.

Addressing a press conference in Abuja on Monday, Basheer Lado, a former senator representing Kano central and convener of the group, said in the spirit of fairness and equity, the number three position should be zoned to the south-south geo-political zone and given to Akpabio.

72 Ex-senators Endorse Akpabio For Senate President

Lado said Barau Jibrin, senator representing Kano north, – a contender for the senate president position – should be given the deputy senate president position.

“We, in the spirit of equity, fairness, political expediency and following extensive consultations with stakeholders, hereby express our total support for the zoning of the position of the president of the 10th senate, to the south-south geo-political zone of Nigeria,” he said.

“We also affirm our unfettered support for the position of the president of the 10th senate who also doubles as the chairman of the national assembly to be conferred on His Excellency, Distinguished senator Godswill Obot Akpabio, CON.

“The position of senate president represents the third position in the hierarchy of our current democratic dispensation. This position carries considerable weight in discharging vital constitutional responsibilities and charting the right course for our national development.

“It is also important that the holder of such a position enjoys the confidence and support of the party leadership and that of his peers as Senator Godswill Akpabio undoubtedly does.

“With this same spirit of fairness, we also affirm our solid support that the position of deputy president of the 10th senate be conceded to distinguished senator Barau I. Jubril, CON, representing Kano north senatorial zone, Kano state.”

The convener said a diverse and united legislative leadership is critical to good governance.

Here is the list of the senators;

  • Ben Ayade
  • George Akume
  • Basheer Lado
  • Rilwan Akanbi
  • Barnabas Gemade​​​​
  • Grace Bent
  • Binta Masi Garba
  • Ayogu Eze
  • Andy Uba
  • Ibrahim Ida
  • Olorunnimbe Mamora​​
  • Anthony Adeniyi​​​
  • Ganiyu Solomon​​​
  • Gbenga Obadara​​​
  • Gbenga Kaka​​​
  • Musiliu Obanikoro​​​
  • Arise Ayo​​​​
  • Felix Kolawole Bajomo​​
  • Hassain Mudashiru​​​
  • Domingo Obende​​​
  • Wilson Ake​​​​
  • Ita Enang​​​​
  • Heineken Lokpobiri​​
  • Clever Ikisikpo
  • Ita Giwa
  • Ibrahim Musa​​​
  • Alex Kadiri​​​​
  • Ocheja Emma Dangana
  • Jibriu Wowo
  • Isa Maina
  • Mohammed Ohiare​​
  • Abubakar Sodangi
  • Joseph Akaagerger​​
  • Jack Tilley Gyado​​​
  • Abubakar Tutare​​​
  • Bello Tukur​​​​
  • Ahmed Barata​​​​
  • Abba Aji​​​​​
  • Mohammed A. Mohammed​​
  • Umar Idris​​​​​
  • Adamu Talba​​​​
  • Sidi Ali​​​​​
  • Timothy Adudu​​​​
  • Ishaq Adebayo Salman​​​
  • Akin Odunsi​​​​​
  • Seye Ogunlewe​​​​​
  • Fatima Raji Rasaki​​​
  • Lanre Tejuoso​​​​
  • Nkechi Nwaogu​​​​
  • Margery Chuba Okadigbo
  • Mohammed Saleh​​​
  • Sani Kanba​​​​​
  • Abubakar Abdullahi Naamo​​
  • Danladi Sankara
  • Mohammed Ibrahim​
  • Sola Adeyeye
  • Anthony Agbo​​​
  • Ikechukwu Obior
  • Chris Adighije​​​
  • Emma Anosike​​​​
  • Jalo Zarami
  • Alkali Jajere
  • Oladipo Odujinrin
  • Mohammed Alkali
  • Sunday Ogbuoji
  • Abu Ibrahim
  • Bello Maitama
  • Saddiq Yar’adua
  • Jide Omoworare
  • Anthony Manzo
  • Aminu Inuwa
  • Magnus Abeh