Bamidele, Umahi Named Senate Leader, Deputy


Bamidele, Umahi Named Senate Leader, Deputy

Senate President Godswill Akpabio has announced the principal officers of the majority party – the All Progressives Congress (APC) – in the upper legislative chamber.

On the floor of the senate on Tuesday, Akpabio announced Opeyemi Bamidele, senator representing Ekiti central, as majority leader, and David Umahi, senator representing Ebonyi south, as the deputy majority leader.

Ali Ndume, senator representing Borno south, was named as chief whip of the senate, and Lola Ashiru, senator representing Kwara south, as deputy chief whip.

The 10th national assembly was inaugurated on June 13 after presiding officers of both chambers were elected.

Akpabio said the principal officers from the majority were chosen by a “consensus”.

“By consensus, the senate leader is senator Opeyemi Bamidele, he will be the majority leader of the senate. Senator Ali Ndume will be the chief whip of the 10th senate. Senator David Umahi will act as deputy leader and senator Lola Ashiru will be the deputy chief whip,” he said.

The senate president announced Simon Mwadkwon, senator representing Plateau north, as minority leader.

“The minority caucus of the senate is made up of about seven political parties and have come up with their leadership so I will proceed to announce,” Akpabio said.

“Senator Simon Mwadkwon, minority leader; Oyewumi Olalere, deputy minority leader; senator Darlington Nwokocha, minority whip; and senator Rufai Anga, deputy minority whip.”