Buhari Unveils New Cabinet, Says New Ministers Must Proceed To Work SPEEDILY (FULL LIST)


Nigerian President, Muhammadu Buhari has finally assigned portfolios to his list of ministers.
Assigning the portfolios on Wednesday, Buhari confirmed his headship of the Petroleum Ministry while he appointed the Group Managing Director of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, Mr Ibe Kachikwu, the Minister of State for Petroleum.
Former Lagos State Governor, Mr Babatunde Fashola, was announced as Minister of Works, Power and Housing.
And for Nigerians, this is key because the economy revolves around power, just as many want to see the roads fixed.
The Solid Mineral Ministry is headed by Dr. Kayode Fayemi, as the former Governor of Rivers State, Rotimi Amaechi, was also assigned Transportation and Aviation ministry.
Ministry of Labour and Employment is headed by Dr. Chris Ngige, while the Ministry of Finance is headed by the former Commissioner for Finance in Ogun State, Kemi Adeosun.
The ministers took their oath of office on Wednesday, which automatically concluded the process of constituting a new cabinet.
In a group of four each, the ministers took their oath.
The President, after the swearing in, said that his administration would continue to implement policies that would improve the economy of the nation.
He emphasised that the Federal Government would implement policies that would generate massive employment for youths and ensure food security.
“We are optimistic that bringing this set of ministers into the service of our country today, is a step in the right direction and a timely move towards realising our positive goals for our country.
“Since we assumed office in May, I have been mindful of the need to ensure that appointment of the new ministers translates into putting round pegs in round holes wile showing sensitivity to our diversity as a people and our various positions as groups of stakeholders of our country,” he said.
The President further told the gathering that he had been mindful of the need not to repeat mistakes of the past where the right people are allocated the wrong portfolios which translated into poor performance to Nigerians collective detriment despite their obvious capabilities.
“Our government shall continue more decisively to implement its policies in respect for the economy and in other areas.”
He reiterated his determination to diversify the economy with agriculture becoming a major sector.
“While working hard to maximise the revenue from oil in the face of the sharp decline of the price of the commodity, we are determined to diversify the economy in agriculture to enhance employment and explore solid minerals, as a major revenue earner.
“The primary aim is to achieve self-sufficiency in production of such staples as rice and wheat and to become a major consumer and exporter of those items as well as solid minerals,” the President stated.
He emphasised that ‘government business’ must be conducted with transparency, citing the adoption of the Treasury Single Account as a way of blocking financial leakages in the public sector to make more funds available for the business of government and welfare of Nigerians.
“Our new ministers must proceed to work speedily and do their uttermost to justify the confidence we have placed in them, not only by their conduct but also by their performance in their various positions,” President Buhari stressed.
With assurances that the country will experience positive changes, the President asked that all Nigerians “keep hope alive” and sustain their optimism about the future of the nation’s economic well-being.
Full List Of Ministers And Portfolios…………………………….
Abubakar Malami (SAN) – Justice
Geoffrey Onyeama – Foreign Affairs
Khadija Abubakar Abba Ibrahim – State Minister of Foreign Affairs
Brigadier-General Muhammad Mansur Dan-Ali (rtd) – Defence
Adamu Adamu – Education
Professor Anthony Anwuka – State Minister of Education
Kemi Adeosun – Finance
Okechukwu Enelama – Industry, Trade and Investment
Aisha Abubakar – State Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment
Senator (Dr.) Chris Ngige – Labour and Employment
Barrister James Ocholi – State Minister of Labour and Employment
Muhammodu Bello – Federal Capital Territory
Abdulrahman Bello Dambazau – Interior
Senator Udoma Udo Udoma – Budget and National Planning
Zainab Ahmed – State Minister of Budget and National Planning
Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu – State Minister of Petroleum Resources
Babatunde Fashola (SAN) – Power, Works and Housing
Mustapha Baba Shehuri – State Minister of Power, Works and Housing
Chief Audu Innocent Ogbeh – Agricultural and Rural Development
Heineken Lokpobiri – State Minister of Agricultural and Rural Development
Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi – Transportation
Senator Hadi Sirika – State Minister of Aviation
Isaac Folorunso Adewole – Health
Dr. Osagie Ehanire – State Minister of Health
Senator Aisha Al-Hassan – Woman Affairs
Pastor Usani Uguru – Niger Delta
Claudius Omoleye Daramola – State Minister of Niger Delta
Barrister Adebayo Shittu – Communications
Lai Mohammed – Information
Amina Mohammed – Environment
Ibrahim Usman Jubril – State Minister of Environment
Engineer Suleiman Adamu – Water Resources
Barrister Solomon Dalong – Youth and Sports
Kayode Fayemi – Solid Minerals
Abubakar Bwari – Minister Of States of Solid Minerals
Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu – Science and Technology