Lagos PDP unveils six 2023 governorship aspirants


The Lagos chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) says six aspirants are vying for its governorship ticket for the 2023 elections.

The aspirants are AbdulAzeez Adediran, visioner of the Lagos4Lagos movement; Adedeji Doherty, former chairman of the party; Ade Dosunmu, a former governorship candidate of the party; Rhodes Gbadebo, 2019 PDP senatorial candidate for Lagos west; David Kolawole and Jimi Karmal.

Hakeem Amode, Lagos publicity secretary of the party, said the aspirants were screened by the Ahmed Makarfi-led panel at the zonal office in Ibadan on Thursday.

“Eleven aspirants from Oyo, Lagos and Ogun states appeared before the panel in Ibadan,” Amode said.

“The Lagos aspirants that appeared before the panel were Shamsideen Dosumu, AbdulAzeez Adediran, David Kolawole, Jimi Karmal, Adedeji Doherty and Rhodes Gbadebo.”

Amode said the state had, on Wednesday, screened aspirants for the senate, house of representatives and the state house of assembly.

Expressing gratitude to all the stakeholders and participants, Amode said the smoothness of the exercise was an indication that the party is ready for the 2023 elections.