#NigeriaElections2023: Banky W Loses Again As LP Wins Eti-Osa Reps Seat


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Thaddeus Attah of the Labour Party (LP) as winner of the Eti-Osa federal constituency seat in the house of representatives.

According to NAN, Funmilayo Odukoya, the INEC returning officer, announced the results on Sunday evening at the collation centre inside Lagos State Model Nursery and Primary School, Marwa, Lekki 1.

“That Thaddeus Attah of LP, having satisfied the requirement of the law is hereby declared winner and is returned elected; signed by me. Thank you so much,” Odukoya said.

Attah won with 24,075 votes, beating Banky W of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who had 18,666 votes.

Babjide Obanikoro of the All Progressive Congress (APC) secured the third spot with 16,901 votes.

Odukoya said Oladehin Olufemi of the African Democratic Congress received 1,422 votes; Azeez Kabirat of New Nigeria Peoples Party (414 votes), and Olasunkanmi Ololade, Social Democratic Party (207 votes).

#NigeriaElections2023: Banky W Loses Again As LP Wins Eti-Osa Reps Seat

In 2019, the singer contested the same position under the Modern Democratic Party (MDP).

He, however, lost to Babajide Obanikoro of the APC.

Earlier, there was pandemonium between the party agents and INEC officers over the authenticity of the result, even before it was declared by the presiding officer.

The agents including APC and PDP refused to accept the announcement of results unless their complaints were addressed.

Aderemi Adeshina, the PDP agent, claimed some voters were disenfranchised in some polling units in the LGA.

Adeshina also alleged that results recorded in some units after the elections were not transmitted through the BVAS machine.

“We will not accept the result until another election takes place in all the wards where we were disenfranchised,” he said.