Senate Confirms Appointments Of Service Chiefs


Senate Confirms Appointments Of Service Chiefs

The senate has confirmed the appointments of service chiefs recently announced by President Bola Tinubu.

The upper legislative chamber confirmed the nominees after screening them in a closed session that lasted for more than an hour.

The service chief nominees are; Christopher Musa, chief of defence staff; Taoreed Lagbaja, chief of army staff; Emmanuel Ogalla, chief of naval staff; and Hassan Abubakar, chief of air staff.

Last week, Tinubu wrote to the national assembly, seeking the confirmation of the service chiefs, premising his request on section 18(1) of the armed forces act. CAP A20 laws of the federation of Nigeria, 2004.

Before going for the screening, the service chiefs took turns to speak about their careers and how the country has grappled with security challenges as well as how they hope to mitigate them.

Lagbaja said he would work with other service chiefs in ensuring that the country is secured.

“I have identified some pillars on which my leadership will rest and that include sound leadership. I have identified and will work with my fellow service chiefs and other security agencies,” he said.

On his part, Ogalla, chief of naval staff, said: “I have served in various capacities. I wish to state that if given the opportunity to serve, as the chief of naval staff, I will give my best. I fully understand the challenges facing the navy.”