Anarchy Looms In Upper House As 11 PDP Senators Decamp To APC


There’s looming anarchy and confusion in the upper house as 11 PDP Senators formally decamped from the ruling People Democratic Party, PDP to the opposition, All Progressive Congress, APC.

The defecting senators had in a letter handed to Senate president David Mark by Senator Bukola Saraki (PDP, Kwara) yesterday during plenary session announced their leaving the PDP. 

The senators in the letter cited factionalisation and division in the PDP as reasons for their defection in pursuant to Section 68 (1g) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 as amended.

They include Bukola Saraki-Kwara Central; Umaru Dahiru-Sokoto South and Magnus Ngei Abe- Rivers South-East. Wilson Asinobi Ake-Rivers West; Bindawa Muhammed Jibrilla-Adamawa North; Mohammed Danjuma Goje-Gombe Central; Aisha Jummai Alhassan-Taraba North; Mohammed Ali Ndume-Borno South; Mohammed Shaba Lafiaji-Kwara North; Abdullahi Adamu-Nasarawa West and Ibrahim Abdullahi Gobir-Sokoto East.

Just before the National Assembly went on recess last December, 37 members of the House of Representatives defected from PDP to APC.

Since last November when five PDP governors defected to the APC, the ruling party had been hit by defections of many legislators elected on its platform at both federal and state levels.

Leave a comment here AS WE DISCUSS THIS TRENDING SOCIO-POLITICAL PROBLEM. Send feedbacks & articles to Follow @SkytrendNews on twitter and be our fan on facebook.