Tinubu swears in new ministers as FEC meets today

Tinubu swears in new ministers as FEC meets today
Tinubu swears in new ministers as FEC meets today

President Bola Tinubu is set to swear in three additional ministers into his 48-person cabinet today, according to official sources.

The swearing-in ceremony will take place at the Council Chamber of the State House just before the commencement of the Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting.

Second FEC meeting

Today’s FEC meeting marks the second gathering since President Tinubu’s inauguration on May 29.

The previous meeting took place 48 days ago on August 28, during which the President inaugurated 45 ministers.

The three new ministers to be sworn in are Jamila Bio, Ayodele Olawande, and Balarabe Lawal, all hailing from Kaduna State. Jamila Bio is expected to assume the role of Minister of Youth, while Ayodele Olawande will be sworn in as the Minister of State for Youth.

Following President Tinubu’s letter, the Senate screened and confirmed the three additional ministers on October 4.

Balarabe Lawal, in particular, will replace former Kaduna State governor Nasir El-Rufai, whose ministerial nomination was rejected by the Senate.

Lawal previously served as Secretary to the Kaduna State Government during El-Rufai’s tenure.

The official source confirmed that the swearing-in ceremony will take place before the start of the FEC meeting at 12 pm on Monday.

This step aligns with Article 144 (5) of the 1999 Constitution (as amended), which recognizes the Federal Executive Council as the body of ministers responsible for executing government functions as directed by the President.

The Council plays a vital role in policy formulation and the implementation of government projects.